He Paid A Debt He did not Owe


HE PAID A DEBTVERSE 1:
There was a time in my life when I longed for peace of mind
I never pondered sin’s price that must be paid
This life sin took its toll in wasted years, still un-resigned,
But on Jesus, at the cross, my sin was laidCHORUS:
He paid a debt He did not owe,
I owed a debt I could not pay,
I needed someone to wash my sin away
And now I sing that brand new song: Amazing Grace
For Jesus paid the debt that I could never pay

VERSE 2:
And then one day Jesus touched me
And I knew his life divine
Now he leads me down the path that’s filled with His love.
No more alone, I’ll sing His praise for I feel Him deep inside
Just knowing Jesus is worth more than anything

CHORUS:
He paid a debt He did not owe,
I owed a debt I could not pay,
I needed someone to wash my sin away
And now I sing that brand new song: Amazing Grace
For Jesus paid the debt that I could never pay

TAG:
And now I sing that brand new song: Amazing Grace
For Jesus paid the debt that I could never pay

He Paid A Debt

Upon an old rugged tree -
hanging there between two thieves -
my Jesus paid a debt for me -
he did not owe -
Now by his grace I’ll make it home -
for with his blood he saved my soul -
Yes, my Jesus paid a debt for me the did not owe

(Chorus) He paid a debt he did not owe
And I owed a debt I could not pay
I needed someone to wash my sins away
Now I’m singing a brand new song – of that happy day
Yes, my Jesus paid a debt for me – I could not pay

I walked on everyday -
and I felt I’d lost my way -
from all the pain and my trails down here below -
Then one day – he set me free -
he opened my eyes so I could see -
Yes, my Jesus paid a debt for me -
He did not owe

He Paid My Debt!

He paid a debt He did not owe,
I owed a debt I could not pay,
I needed someone, to wash my sins away.
And now I sing a brand new song,
Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
Christ Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay!

He paid that debt on Calvary,
To cleanse my soul and set me free.
I’m glad that Jesus did ALL sins erase.
And now I sing a brand new song,
Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
Christ Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay!

One day He’s coming back for me,
To live with Him eternally,
Won’t it be glory, to see him on that day.
I then will sing a brand new song,
Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
Christ Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay!

I must confess that I am not very sure of the correct version of this song. But I grew up singing the third version at school. I have found all of them linked to the same chorus. I just wonder whether this song had no stanzas when it was written and people added the stanzas as they enjoyed the song. Just my thoughts.

I have tried to find some information about the writer of this song but failed. If anyone has some information, I will be glad to learn from them. However, the words of this song are profound. They speak of a fundamental truth of Christianity.

“It is finished.”  Were the last words of our Lord Jesus Christ before he died? It is finished… What is finished? Is Christ giving up? Are these words of defeat? No, when Christ says the words “it is finished,” he is announcing our victory. In Greek, the original language of the New Testament, this phrase is only one word, the word that in Jesus’ day was stamped on debts when they were “paid in full.” With his last breath, our Lord announces to us the victory that we have in him. “It is finished”; “Paid in full”; “The debt of your sins is gone forever.” And so, today in our meditation song, we talk about these words of comfort and we are going to see exactly how Jesus paid our debt.  In summary, He paid our debt with his perfect life and He paid our debt with his innocence.

God never planned for men to try and work their way to Heaven, Eph. 2:8-9. God never planned for me to make my own Gods and worship them to erase my sins, Isa. 45:22. God never wanted man to be trapped in a wasted life followed by and endless eternity in Hell. That is why He sent His Son to die on the cross! He did it to save man from religion! He did it to save men from the futility of false gods. He did it to deliver lost people from the flames of Hell. He did it for you! Remember, God has but one plan and if you expect to make it to Heaven, you will go His way, or you will not go at all!

Why did He go to Calvary?: There was a payment to furnish:

A Ransom Payment- When Jesus died on the cross, He was paying a debt He did not owe for those who owed a debt they could not pay. Man had sinned against the Lord and was sold under sin! The only way they could be delivered was for a ransom price to be paid for them.

The only way to understand this is to look at it from God’s point of view. When He made man, He made him innocent and placed him in a beautiful garden, where is every need was supplied. The only restriction God placed upon man was to refrain from eating on the tree of the knowledge of good and of evil. God told the man that the day he ate of that tree, he would die, Gen. 2:15-17. This meant that man would eventually die physically and his body would return to the earth. He would ultimately die eternally and be sent to Hell to spent eternity paying for his sin against God. However, it also meant that man would die immediately in a spiritual sense and be separated from God, Isa. 59:2; Eph. 2:1-3. When Adam did eat of the forbidden tree, Gen. 3:1-24, man died just as God had said that he would.

What man needed was a Saviour. Someone Who could pay the debt of sin owed to God and set things right again. This is just what Jesus did when He died on the cross. He paid the debt that Adam incurred when he sinned in the Garden of Eden. He also paid the debt that every one of us owes to God, if we will only receive Him by faith.

When Jesus died on the cross, His blood cancelled your debt, if you will only believe in Him. This is the theme of the Bible! This is the what the Word of God teaches. Salvation does not come through worldly things like “silver and gold” and worthless religious activity and ritual, v. 18! It comes only through the precious shed blood of the Lord Jesus Christ!

A Redemption Payment – This is a word that comes to us from the ancient slave trade. It means “To buy a slave in the market place from off of the slave block and to forever deliver that one from his bondage.” In other words, when Jesus died on the cross, He provided the means whereby lost, hell bound sinners trapped in the futility of their wasted lives and who are headed to a Godless, Christless eternity might be forever set free from their bondage and delivered from their torment! That is what redemption is all about!

I bless His name that He came to set the sinner free! He came to pay the price that we could not pay. He came to break from our lives the chains of sin that bind us and to set us free. He came to do for us that which we could never do for ourselves: He came to save us from our sins and set us free to serve the living God. He came to change our Descriptions; our Directions; our Devotions and our Destinations. He came to redeem the lost back to God, Eph. 2:4-10!

A Reasonable Payment – One may wonder why Jesus had to go to the cross. The answer lies in the fact that a holy God had been offended by the sins of man. The only thing that could set the record straight and clear the books of evil was the death of the Lamb of God on the cross. The innocent had to take the place of the guilty, 2 Cor. 5:21. Since the first animal was slain the Old Testament this had always been God’s method for dealing with sin. However, not a single sin had been purged by the blood of those millions of animals that were killed. Sin had merely been dealt with for the moment. Yet, when Jesus came and died on the cross, His blood did what the blood of all those animals could never do, it took away sin forever, John 1:29; Heb. 9:9-14.

All people are sinners, Rom. 3:10; 23, and God is a holy God Who must deal justly with the sins of man. This means that every person born into this world is born under the condemnation of His wrath and is headed to Hell, Rom. 6:23. However, when Jesus entered this world and died on the cross, He forever satisfied the righteous demands of God and opened the way of salvation for those lost without Him, 1 John 2:2; Isa. 53:11.

There was a payment to furnish. Jesus did that and now lost sinners can be saved. Have you placed your faith in the sacrifice Jesus made on Calvary? There is no other hope nor method of salvation available for your soul, but that which is offered by God through the shed blood of His Son, the Lord Jesus Christ.

There was a people to free:  Jesus came to redeem people from their bondage in sin. Free from what you may ask. Free from all things that bind you, so that you night be free to serve Him fully. In fact, if you are not saved, you are far more bound than you can ever imagine!

Free from An Endless Eternity – While Jesus died to make life more meaningful, He also died to make eternity more pleasant. The only remedy for those who leave this world in their sins is for them to be sent to Hell, Psa. 9:17; 2 Thes. 1:8-9; Luke 16:19-31. Friend, that is a place that even the devil doesn’t want to go to! Yet, it is the very place you will spend eternity if your refuse God’s offer of salvation through the Lord Jesus Christ. Hell is a place of pain, misery, torment, regret, memory, thirst, separation, loneliness, unending suffering and terrible anguish. The Bible says that it is a place where there will be “there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.“, Matt. 8:12. Yet, the Bible also tells us that hell was never intended to be populated with humans, Matt. 25:41. However, don’t let that cause you to think for a minute that He will not send you there if you die in your sins! That is His remedy and that is your destiny if you are lost.

Jesus came to change all that! Here is His promise to those who believe in Him, John 10:28. He promises them that they will “never perish.” They can rest assured that they will never feel the flames of Hell, but that when they leave this world, they will spend eternity in the very presence of God, Rev. 22:4, 2 Cor. 5:1-8. In a place prepared specifically for them, John 14:1-3. He went to the cross so that sinners might be saved from their sins, from Hell and from the wrath of God. He also died there so that we might be made worthy to enter into His Heaven some day! Think of that land and all of its glories, Rev. 21:1-28! That is my home and I am headed there. Not because I am worthy, but because He went to the cross to make me ready for that place. All I did was go to Him when He called! That is all you have to do as well, Acts 16:31; John 6:37-40.

Why did He go to Calvary? He went for God, He went for Himself and He went for You. He went so that everything might change for you and that you might be saved. All that I have said comes down to this statement and the following question: He went to Calvary for you back then! Will you come to Him right now? If you will, He will wash away your sins, change your life, prepare you a home in Heaven and take you there when you die. One day, His offer of grace will no longer be available. Will you come while the door of salvation is still open? Will you come while He calls you right now?

 

Gallery

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 893 other followers

