Higher Ground


Higher Ground

I’m pressing on the upward way,
New heights I’m gaining every day;
Still praying as I onward bound,

“Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.”

Lord, lift me up and let me stand,
By faith, on heaven’s table land,
A higher plane than I have found;

Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.

My heart has no desire to stay
Where doubts arise and fears dismay;
Though some may dwell where those abound,
My prayer, my aim, is higher ground.

Lord, lift me up and let me stand,
By faith, on heaven’s table land,
A higher plane than I have found;

Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.

I want to live above the world,
Though Satan’s darts at me are hurled;
For faith has caught the joyful sound,
The song of saints on higher ground.

Lord, lift me up and let me stand,
By faith, on heaven’s table land,
A higher plane than I have found;

Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.

I want to scale the utmost height
And catch a gleam of glory bright;
But still I’ll pray till heaven I’ve found,

“Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.”

Lord, lift me up and let me stand,
By faith, on heaven’s table land,
A higher plane than I have found;

Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.

Philippians 3:14

I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

That hits hard. While I keep myself busy with my professional work, and family ‘stuff’, and all the trappings of life, am I focused on the goal? Do I really know what that goal should be? What is my goal? So often my goals of the moment are inwardly focused. I am trying to please myself. What do I want right now? What can I do to make this day better for me?

Paul had this all sorted. He knew that the goal was a heavenly one. The mission of the Gospel was his singular focus. Though all of life was sometimes collapsing around him, he saw the prize. Not that Paul had tunnel vision. He saw the hurt and need in people around him. He lived the message of the Gospel every day, and in every aspect of life. When people met Paul, people met Jesus, and people were changed. Paul got his reward. Right now he is in the presence of God. How awesome is that?!

That is the prize I seek. That is the focus on the goal that I desire. When people meet me, I want them to meet Jesus. Not that I am perfect, but I have an amazing gift. I have the God that Paul served, the God that is perfect living in me. I want to take all of the love that God graciously puts in my heart, and mirror it out. Every night when I take stock of the activity of the day, I want to have had a positive impact on the people I met. Not that I am trying to save the world, but that I am trying to positively impact those that God sets in my path. As I press on the upward way, I am not stepping on people or pushing them aside, but lifting them up and pointing them toward that same goal. And I am not climbing toward that goal alone, but I am praying for strength from God all the way, every day, without ceasing. Though Satan’s darts at me are hurled, I am putting on the full armor of God and, like Paul, praising God in all circumstances.

Dear Lord,

My heart has no desire to stay, where doubts arise and fears dismay. Though some may dwell where those abound, make my prayer and my aim, your higher ground. I want to scale the utmost height, and catch a glimpse of your glory bright. And I WILL pray till Heaven I have found. Lord, set my sights, guide my path, and plant my feet on higher ground.

This entry was posted in Hymns Alive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

