My Name is in the Book


1 My name is in the book of Life,
Oh, bless the name of Jesus;
I rise above all doubt and strife,
And read my title clear.

Refrain:
I know, I know,
My name is there;
I know, I know,
My name is written there.

2 My name once stood with sinners lost,
And bore a painful record;
But by His blood the Savior crossed,
And placed it on His roll.

3 Yet inward trouble often cast,
A shadow o’er my title;
But now with full salvation blest,
Praise God! it’s ever clear.

4 While others climb through worldly strife
To carve a name of honor,
High up in heaven’s book of Life,
My name is written there.

This song was written by Daniel Sidney Warner, 1842-1895. He was born on June 25, 1842 in Bris­tol (now Mar­shall­ville), Ohio. He died on De­cem­ber 12, 1895 at Grand Junc­tion, Mi­chi­gan, of pneu­mon­ia. D. S Warner is buried near Grand Junc­tion, Mi­chi­gan, at the edge of the Church of God camp­ground that was once there. As of 1880, Warner was liv­ing in Rome Ci­ty, In­di­a­na.

This entry was posted in Hymns Alive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

