Am Free From the Fear Of Tomorrow


Written by Bill & Gloria Gaither

So long I had searched for life’s meaning,
Enslaved by the world and my greed;
Then the door of the prison was opened by love,
For the ransom was paid – I was free.

Refrain
I’m free from the fear of tomorrow,
I’m free from the guilt of the past;
For I’ve traded my shackles for a glorious song,
I’m Free! Praise the Lord! Free at last!

I’m free from the guilt that I carried,
From that dull empty life I’m set free;
For when I met Jesus, He made me complete,
He forgot how foolish I used to be.

Refrain
I’m free from the fear of tomorrow,
I’m free from the guilt of the past;
For I’ve traded my shackles for a glorious song,
I’m Free! Praise the Lord! Free at last!

I’m free from the fear of tomorrow,
I’m free from the guilt of the past;
For I’ve traded my shackles for a glorious song,
I’m Free! Praise the Lord! Free at last!
I’m Free! Praise the Lord! Free at last!

“I’m free from the fear of tomorrow; I’m free from the guilt of the past.” The song of the redeemed soul is lifted to the heavens in this gospel original from Bill and Gloria Gaither. One of my favourite Southern Gospel Artists of modern day.

I cannot understand how the Lord works, but He will do all things to the Glory and praise of His name. To make me really understand and appreciate the redeeming love, God has taken me through a journey which only now as I look back, can testify of His goodness to me. If I had not gone through what I have experience, I would never have appreciated what freedom from sin could mean.

Christ promised freedom to the Jews who believed in Him. Discipleship results in freedom — in His service are perfect freedom. Discipleship brings us freedom from fear, freedom from self, and freedom from sin.

Freedom is defined as “liberation from slavery or restraint or from the power of another: independence” (Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary). The desire for freedom is something that innately resides within all of us. Hubert H. Humphrey said, “Freedom is the most contagious virus known to man.” Abraham Lincoln said, “Our reliance is in the love of liberty which God has planted in our bosoms. Our defence is in the preservation of the spirit which prizes liberty as the heritage of all men, in all lands, everywhere.” But as a Christian, we recognize true freedom only comes from accepting Christ as Saviour.  The Bible says “He whom the Son has set free is free indeed.”

Couple of comments on the lyrics:

  • So long I had searched for life’s meaning – How many times did we think that seeking pleasures of this world was the way to real life meaning and the end was marks of sin that we will always live by. Daily our journey through this world has left indelible marks that remind us of our sin. All was in vain till Christ came along. Free; at Rest; liberty. These are the opposite of bondage, slavery, captivity.  Jesus tells us that people without Himself, are in bondage, and are slaves to passions and burdens that cannot be carried long by the human heart (Eph 2:12,13).    But the implications are clear that what Jesus did on His cross, was sufficient to sever the hold of sin on our lives! Do you understand this?   So, what is wrong with people then? Why are so many people STILL in bondage to their sins? Several reasons: (a)  They are only actors – pretending to play the part of the Christian. Still going to church, and through the rituals – but no change ever occurs. (b) They are immature – and don’t know any better (c)   They are carnal – unwilling to LET GO of sins – become free INDEED
  • Enslaved by the world and my greed – The Bible teaches us that sin enslaves.  That it can control the inner man.  That we are in bondage to sin.  We also know that by our own personal decisions sometimes we choose to be enslaved to sin.  Bill and Gloria Gaither write that they are enslaved by greed.  But the same could be true of hate, anger, pride, and jealousy.  We are sinful by nature and we are sinful by choice.  The power of the Gospel message, however, is that we can be set free from these things by the blood of Jesus Christ.
  • Traded my shackles for a glorious song – A shackle, padlock, also known as a gyve, or shackle was a U-shaped piece of metal secured with a clevis pin or bolt across the opening, or a hinged metal loop secured with a quick-release locking pin mechanism. They are used as a connecting link in all manner of rigging systems, from boats and ships to industrial crane rigging. During the slave trade, shackles were used to make sure that a slave could not escape. It has nowadays become a language to refer to strong bond that are hard to break. Shackles of sin and sinful acts that is hard to break from. We have shackles, but we exchange them for a glorious song.  Isn’t that awesome?

But as we think about Christianity and the freedom that it brings, we should also remember that we too are slaves.  Paul referred to himself many times as a “bondservant” or “slave” to Christ.  Christ was his, and should be our, Master.  He should govern how we live, what we say, where we go, and what we do.  We should live as men and women that have been bought with a price, and submit fully to His leadership and control.  Yes, our testimony is “I’m free,” but we also should testify to being a “slave” to the greatest, most loving, compassionate Master, and declare our dependence on Him.

For those of you unfamiliar with this song, I have attached a YouTube link of Michael English singing this song.  As you may know Michael English has had his set of struggles and challenges.  I pray that the words and testimony of this song sung by Michael English will touch your heart today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpQmuekBdp0

Conclusion

How do I obtain freedom from sin? First, I must hear the message of the cross, for “faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God” (Rom. 10:17).

Having heard the message of the cross, I am led to believe in Christ, for if I do not believe in Him I will die in my sins (John 8:24).

As a believer I am led to repent of my sins, for “commands all men everywhere to repent” (Acts 17:31). Repentance is not just sorrow for sins, or sorrow over being caught. It is an acknowledgement of sin coupled with a determination to do better — a change of heart that brings about a change in action.

The penitent believer is now ready to openly confess that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, like the Ethiopian Eunuch did (Acts 8:36-37).

Having confessed faith in Christ I can now be baptized for the remission of sins (Acts 2:38).

Christ has done so much for your freedom from sin, what are you going to do in return?

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns, Hymns Alive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

