Through It All


“Many of the songs I’ve written speak to me as far as telling me the process of how to get through things. ‘Through It All’ in particular, lets me know you have a lot of experiences in life and you must learn to trust Jesus.” By Andráe Crouch

Through It All

I’ve had many tears and sorrows,
I’ve had questions for tomorrow,
there’s been times I didn’t know right from wrong.
But in every situation,
God gave me blessed consolation,
that my trials come to only make me strong.

Chorus
Through it all,
through it all,
I’ve learned to trust in Jesus,
I’ve learned to trust in God.

Through it all,
through it all,
I’ve learned to depend upon His Word.

I’ve been to lots of places,
I’ve seen a lot of faces,
there’s been times I felt so all alone.
But in my lonely hours,
yes, those precious lonely hours,
Jesus lets me know that I was His own

I thank God for the mountains,
and I thank Him for the valleys,
I thank Him for the storms He brought me through.
For if I’d never had a problem,
I wouldn’t know God could solve them,
I’d never know what faith in God could do

The opening words to the song, Through it All, written by one of gospel music’s most loved songwriters and singers, Andráe Crouch, tell the story of his life. Crouch, whose name is synonymous with gospel music was  born on July 1, 1942 in Los Angeles, California. He  has been singing gospel songs himself and writing them for other gospel singers for 40 years having been a key figure in the Christian Music movement of the 1960s and 1970s.. That isn’t all. Many secular artists have also sung his songs, and Crouch has collaborated on projects with Paul Simon, Quincy Jones, Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Barbara Mandrell, Elton John, Madonna, Vanessa Williams, and others.

The words of his well loved Through it All may sum up his life best of all-both the hardships and the victories. His father, Benjamin Crouch Sr., his mother, Catherine, and his brother, Benjamin Jr., all died within two years of each other. Later  he was afflicted with four different kinds of cancer and had congestive heart failure for a year-and-a-half. After having the congestive heart failure, he was hospitalized in the morning, stabilized in the afternoon, and performed a concert one weekend. He also fell and broke a rib during the Christmas season in 2005, but that actually turned out to be a good thing, because it allowed his doctor to determine his calcium was low-which could have been fatal. Through everything, he has kept up his music career and also is the pastor of Christ Memorial Church in Pacoima, California, with his sister, Sandra Crouch, being his assistant.

Andráe Crouch is such a favourite, both as a gospel singer and songwriter that his songs have been sung by Elvis, mainstream churches, those in the hippie movements, and African-American Pentecostal churches. His diverse styles of Christian music include hymns, traditional gospel songs, like the ones pioneered by Thomas A. Dorsey, contemporary light rock and pop-oriented songs backed by jazz musicians, to contemporary rhythm and blues.

Andráe Crouch, whom many call a beloved gospel singer, has many well known songs including, The Blood Will Never Lose its Power, Through it All, Bless His Holy Name, My Tribute, and Jesus is the Answer. Andráe Crouch is one of gospel music’s best loved singers and songwriters. His songs demonstrate that he lives and believes the words he is singing.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns, Hymns Alive. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

