He is still working on me


He is still working on me – byJoel Hemphill,

There really ought to be a sign upon the heart,
Don’t judge her yet, there’s an unfinished part.
But I’ll be perfect just according to His plan
Fashioned by the Master’s loving hands.

Chorus

He’s still working on me to make me what I ought to be.
It took Him just a week to make the moon and stars,
The sun and the earth and Jupiter and Mars.
How loving and patient He must be, He’s still working on me.

In the mirror of His Word reflections that I see
Make me wonder why He never gave up on me.
He loves me as I am and helps me when I pray
Remember He’s the Potter, I’m the clay.

Philippians 1:6 –  being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

I learned this song in 1984 when in form one and it still lingers on in my memory and I love to hear and think deeply about the words that are so filled with meaning. Joel Hemphill, a great southern gospel songwriter, wrote this song in the 1970′s. I am glad that God has a plan!  If this thing were up to me, I would have messed it up and lost it a long time ago.  But, my salvation belongs to Him.  He started it; He maintains it and He will finish it for His glory.  I cannot mess it up!

Indeed, none of us has arrived yet.  We are all still works in progress.  I am glad today that I am not what I used to be and that I am not what will be when He gets through with me some day.  As we travel toward eternity, we are mere clay in the hand of the Heavenly Potter.  He is working on us now, and He has great plans for us in eternity.

This verse is personal. Paul is telling us that “if we are born again believers” then we have a promise that God will continue to perform a GOOD WORK in ME! The Lord knows I need continuous work in my Christian walk. I fight my flesh daily. I have a constant warfare within me because I have an enemy.

Satan is constantly seeking to destroy us and to destroy our testimony. He knows our weaknesses and that’s the area he begins his attack. He creeps in slowly trying to distract us. If he’s successful, then our testimony can be hurt, but he can’t steal what God has freely given to us!

I have purposed in my heart to believe that our Scripture text was written to prove to us that God is working on us every moment of every day. If we’ll just stay focused on Him and strive to be pleasing to Him, He’ll mold us and make us what He wants us to be.

Matt 5:20 – For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom. Christians are often some of the worst at judging the lives of others. Isn’t it ironic! While we have been commissioned by Christ to proclaim the gospel, we often turn unbelievers away from Him by how we outwardly judge others who fail to measure up to our worldly standard. In other words, we push others away from Christ instead of allowing them to see the Christian qualities in us that have brought such joy and peace to our lives. Indeed, there are many unbelievers who, after looking at how judgmental we can be, say to themselves: “If that’s Christianity, then I don’t want any part of it.” Sadly, they may only see a brief portion of our lives, but may be lost for all of eternity.

Thank God, He is still working on us!  And, He will continue to work until every single one of His children is at home with Him in His heaven. Someday, God will finish His work in us.  I have never been satisfied with the me I know down here, but I will be satisfied with the me that I will be when I arrive there, Psa. 17:15!  It will be hard to improve upon perfection!

Child of God, don’t despair today!  God is working and will continue to work in your life. He will not lose you.  He will not leave you, Heb. 13:5.  He will keep you and bring you safely home one day! Maybe you would like to bow before Him and renew your commitment to serve Him and love Him for everything that He has done, and is doing, in your life.

Some may be harbouring doubts about your salvation.  Maybe you wonder if what you think you have is real.  The best way to get it settled forever is to bow before the Lord, confess your doubts and claim afresh the promises made in the Bible regarding salvation.  You do not have to live with fear and doubt in your heart!

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns, Redeeming Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He is still working on me

  1. jacintamwilu says:

    Quite encouraging

    Like

Leave a Reply

