Yes I know – Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean


Yes I Know – Guy Penrod

(1) Come, ye sinners, lost and lonely,

Jesus’ blood can make you free;

For He saved the worst among you,

When He saved a wretch like me.

And I know, yes, I know

Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean,

And I know, yes, I know

Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean.

 

(2) To the faint He giveth power,

Through the mountains makes a way;

Findeth water in the desert,

Turns the night to golden day.

And I know, yes, I know

Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean,

And I know, yes, I know

Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean.

 

(3) In temptation He is near thee,

Holds the pow’rs of hell at bay;

Guides you to the path of safety,

Gives you grace for every day.

And I know, yes, I know

Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean,

And I know, yes, I know

Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean.

I first heard this song sung by Jimmy Swarggart and most recently I have loved singing this song from the Gaither Homecoming series.  In my hymn studies, I came across the biography of Guy Penrod and realised that he actually penned down that lovely hymn.  But one thing that has struck me as I sing this song, is the fact that it does not matter the magnitude of your sin, Jesus’blood can make it clean. The blood of Jesus washes as white as snow and it shall never loose its power until all the ransomed church of God is saved to sin no more. Thank God for these words from Guy Penrod’s song. Here is a bit about the man Guy Penrod.

Guy Penrod was raised in Hobbs, New Mexico. After graduating from Hobbs High School, he attended Liberty University where he received a bachelor’s degree in music, Bible and theology. He also met his wife, Angie, at Liberty.

After completing his degrees, Guy first took a position teaching a music class at a Christian school in Atlanta. He soon relocated to Nashville, TN where he worked extensively as a studio singer during the 1980s and early 1990s. He was a member of the Christ Church Choir and regularly appeared as a background singer on the television show Music City Tonight.

In the spring of 1995, Guy got the call from Bill Gaither to join the Gaither Vocal Band. Known for his distinctive appearance and powerful vocals, Guy quickly won his way into the hearts of GVB fans. In addition to singing, Guy co-produced several of the group’s award winning CDs. In 2005, a compilation CD of his most memorable performances was released along with a companion DVD.

Guy left the Gaither Vocal Band to pursue a solo career in the fall of 2008. His well-publicized departure in recent months after 14 years as a centrepiece of Bill Gaither’s celebrated “Vocal Band” was not a move for the faint of heart—nor for a man less sure that he’s tracking on a right course set for new horizons. Guy Penrod is in every sense of the word a man cut from the cloth of rugged individualism. Never is this more evident than in the tracks of his first solo country album project, BREATHE DEEP.  It’s more than a collection of thirteen new songs; it’s the creative thumbprint of a man with strong values and a positive worldview that harkens back to deep roots in faith and family.

I am reminded of a story of one great Christian woman whose past was so shady. She obviously lived in sin. The results of her sin were public because this single young lady could not hide her resulting appearance bearing children with different men. As is too often the case in such situations, her parents especially the mother received all sorts of unwanted advice from their “spiritual” friends and family members. The advice included suggestions that she should disown their daughter to even suggesting that  she aborts her out of wedlock pregnancies. But one day she met Jesus and He changed her and she will never be the same again. And as is the case often, those who have been saved from the deepest of the pit of sin, exhibit more the love of Christ and appreciate more the salvation God has granted them. She now loves the Lord and is married to a man that loves her for who she is and is a blessing to many.

It is amazing how cold and harsh fellow Christians can be. These same Christians can gossip about the situation, but they don’t see that as a sin – at least not a sin of the same seriousness. So often we can see the sins of others but not our own. And we can go on gossiping and thinking that some sins are worse than others – at least worse than ours. But sin is sin. And the scriptures remind us that All have sinned. Without Christ we are lost and lonely and as some hymn writers have written, we are vile wretched people, without hope. But we know that Christ can make the vilest sinner clean – even the murderer, the drug pusher, and the gossip. Guy Penrod, formerly with the Gaither Vocal Band, wrote a gospel song that speaks to this fact. Hopefully you can relate to the words of this hymn as you read the words of the song and if you can you will do well to listen to the Gaither Vocal Band on the link below.

Yes I know, Jesus ‘blood can make the vilest sinner clean.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lngg3qS9BeM&feature=player_detailpage

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns, Hymns Alive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes I know – Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean

  1. Pingback: Penrod series | Autoserviciosm

  2. viola cherotich says:

    I realy love the song. I feel so much blessed with this song!!

    Like

  3. Tsebayo Peter says:

    This song by Guy Penrod goes deep into my heart. I love your music very much. it just simple and clear. i wish you held such concerts in Africa and Uganda in particular.
    Thanks!

    Like

  4. Gregory says:

    When I hear this song I sing it along with tears in my heart because it is my personal testimony. Yes, I know that Jesus’ blood can make the vilest sinner clean because He did it for me.

    Like

  5. Elsie Birech says:

    This song was written by someone called Ann though in 1920

    Like

Leave a Reply

