Joy Comes in the Morning


 Words and music by Bill & Gloria Gaither

If you’ve knelt beside the rubble of an aching, broken heart,
When the things you gave your life to fell apart;
You’re not the first to be acquainted with sorrow, grief or pain,
But the Master promised sunshine after the rain.

Hold on my child, joy comes in the morning,
Weeping only lasts for the night;
Hold on my child, joy comes in the morning,
The darkest hour means dawn is just in sight.

To invest your seed of trust in God in mountains you can’t move,
You have risked your life on things you cannot prove;
But to give the things you cannot keep for what you cannot lose,
Is the way to find the joy God has for you.

Hold on my child, joy comes in the morning,
Weeping only lasts for the night;
Hold on my child, joy comes in the morning,
The darkest hour means dawn is just in sight.

The darkest hour means dawn is just in sight.
Just in sight!

Today, I just wanted you to know that it’s true!  It’s pretty certain we will have trouble in our lives and it’s pretty certain there will be weeping …but joy really does come!

In the darkest times of life, when it seems that there is no end to the battle, no relief from the pain, and no solace for the hurting heart, dawn begins to break. Thank the Lord. There are periods of trial that we go through where it seems we can’t go on another day. It is at the darkest time when we are at the end of our reserves, that our faithful God lets the light begin to break through with more strength, courage, and grace to go another day.

Weeping is a part of this temporal life. All of us go through hardships that bring grief, sadness, and pain to these earthly bodies. Figuratively, nighttimes are a period of trial. Even with physical sickness, things are often much worse during the night. Think back to the times you have been sick or been by the bedside of people in severe affliction. During the sleepless night, there is such a longing for the morning to come and start a new day.

I have often turned to the lyrics of this ancient hymn composed and written by Bill and Gloria Gaither way back in 1974. Whenever I am going through a difficult “season” of life, this hymn together with the scripture that it is crafted from (“Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5) I draw much comfort. I have found great hope in the promises, and in God, as I’ve meditated upon these lyrics during those darkest times of my life. I have had several of those moments in my life. I have been betrayed by those whom I loved and sacrificed for. I have been exposed to danger and death but throughout the time, I have held to the only hope I could hold on. That everything finally has an end, and this too shall pass and joy will be there in the morning.

I know there are a lot of people going through “stuff” right now. It doesn’t matter what it is, losing a house, a job, a marriage or just dealing with life. I want to the words of this hymn with everyone who can read this message. Some days, I have to sing the lyrics over & over to get me through the day, especially the part of the song “Before the morning” where the Gaithers say in the chorus.

Mourning seems to point out the desperation in our heart  and desperation motivates us to look for  the light leading to the way out.  In essence then, mourning can be a catalyst for true joy — the joy that brings real satisfaction and an inner peace of mind.  It’s that whole “when joy meets sorrow” package again.

During the ‘night’ periods of your life, know that the morning cometh. In part, it is the assurance that the morning cometh, that gives us hope to fight and be faithful through the night time. If you are in a difficult period of life – whether it is physical, spiritual, emotional, or otherwise – and there seems to be no end, be assured that the morning is coming. There is coming a day when the Lord will say, “it is enough” and bring the healing to your soul, mind, and body. What a wonderful experience the morning is when joy comes and the tears are no more.

There is a time of joy that the Lord will bring to us in this life after the darkness. But we must also rejoice in knowing that there is coming a final day when the Lord will return. All that have stayed faithful in this dark and sinful world of trouble will be ushered into the joy of Heaven. All sorrow and sighing will flee away. These bodies that get worn down with pain will be no more; and we will have a glorified body – the blind will see and the lame will walk. We will be in the very presence of the Son of God. Oh, what a day that will be!

Let us take courage and be faithful in the time of night and darkness, and let us find peace and hope in knowing that joy comes in the morning. Just as deep as our grieving can go, so also our joy.  Somewhere in the middle of what looks like the darkest night, God gives a light –even if we only see a tiny flame — and oh how bright that little flame is when we’re in the darkest place.  I know this because I’ve experienced it  many times in a very personal way.  In the place that seemed so hopeless, God came to carry me through.

I felt His hope through the love of people who really cared …people who prayed — going to God on my behalf.  That is still so humbling and amazing to me !  I don’t want to say “It works !” because that makes it sound like a formula to be bottled and sold at every corner. What I do want to say is that God works …prayer matters and it’s this amazing thing He designed for mutual communication and intimacy and sharing our hearts with Him.

Something shifts in the heaven’s.  We don’t always see it — but something shifts.  Maybe the effect is not seen immediately or for days or years , but there is working and shifting and moving going on.  I can’t fully explain it but I know this to be true.  I felt His mercies new in the mornings … His faithfulness truly great …His compassion never-failing — just like He said in Lamentations 3: 22- 24  Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

The lesson for today is this. God is the God Who sees. He sees you right where you are and right in the middle of your thoughts or circumstances.  He sees you in your room crying, praying, huddled under a blanket.  He knows you’re wondering how you’re going to get through the next minute, the next hour, the next day and He’s already working — making a way for you so that you won’t fall under the weight of it all.  You will have more than you feel you can handle but I can promise you this … we can ”approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16, NIV)  There’s no limit …no expiration date …no black-out dates …no off-days …no office hours …no dropped calls …no out-of-service areas.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns, Hymns Alive, Redeeming Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joy Comes in the Morning

  1. Tiffany says:

    As a kid I heard an evangelist sing his version of this precious song at our church revival. Someone just told me hold on my child joy comes in the morning and now it plays again in my head. I wish I had the music so I could sing it myself!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

