I’m just a sinner saved by grace


By Bill and Gloria Gaither

If you could see
What I once was
If u could go with me
Back to where I started from
Then, I know you would see
A miracle of Love that put me
in it’s sweet embrace
and made me what I am today
just an old sinner
Saved by grace

I’m just a sinner
Saved by grace
when I stood
condemned to death
He took my place
Now I live and breathe in freedom
with each breath of life I take
loved and forgiven
backed with a living
I’m just a sinner
Saved by grace

How could I boast on anything
I’ve ever seen or done
how could I dare to claim as mine
the victories GOD has won
where would I be
had GOD not brought me
gently to this place
I’m here to say I’m nothing but
a sinner
Saved by grace

I’m just a sinner
Saved by grace
when I stood condemned to death
He took my place
Now I grow and breathe in freedom
with each breath of life I take
I’m loved and forgivin
backed with a living
I’m just a sinner
Saved by grace

Now I grow and breathe in freedom
with each breath of life I take
I’m loved and forgivin
backed with a living
I’m just a sinner
Saved by grace
Saved by grace

In the year 2000, the Gaither Vocal band then composed of Mark Lowry, Guy Penrod, David Phelps and Bill Gaither himself sung this clip that you will find at the end of this discussion. Just before singing the song Bill Gaither had the following to say; “… the truth is, on the very very best day when God helps you to do something great, you are still just a sinner saved by grace. And that is who we truely are friends- Just sinners saved by grace.”

George Younce once said that “If that doesn’t light your fire, your wood is wet.” I think that could apply to every song that he and Glen Payne sang. “I’m Just A Sinner Saved By Grace” is the only thing that we can say about ourselves if we are in Christ. We are great sinners and Christ is a great Saviour. This is one gospel song that actually touches on the Gospel. We can say it again; If salvation in Christ won’t light your fire the spiritual wood in you is wet! Salvation is all of God, all of grace, all a gift. Nothing in my hands I bring, simply to thy cross I cling. The sinner is not saved by good works but FOR good works. Baptism does not make us christians, neither going to church or doing what we think in our sinniful minds as nice good things. God must save and God alone. There is plenty of time to work and worship Jesus AFTER getting redeemed. But none of that contributes to our salvation in the first place.

Just a sinner saved by grace is a song that was written for the Cathedrals by Bill and Gloria Gaither especially for George Younce. The song is centred on the testimony of both George Younce and Glen Payne’s testimonies. This song is one of the most popular Gaither vocal band songs and with good reason too! It has such a great message and may we be drawn closer to God as we think through the words of this song.

As a christian i know this is true for most of us.If people could see what we once were. If people could go with us back to where we started from, then for sure they would see that it is the Miracle of love that took us in. It is God’s sweet embrace that made us what we are today. Friends, we are just sinners saved by grace. Nothing good in us to endear us to God. Left to ourselves, we are the worst sinners that earth has ever seen. It is John Bradford that once said “There, but for the grace of God, goes.” One day while there, the old evangelical preacher John Bradford looked down and saw a group of criminal being led to execution. Simultaneously feeling compassion for the criminals and relief that he was better off, Bradford allegedly uttered the famous quotation “There, but for the grace of God. When you see a prostitute on business, or a blind man or mad man on the streets, remember, if it was not for the grace of God, you could just be that person you are seing. We are priviledged to be what we are in Christ Jesus.

What is a sinner? Who is a sinner? Sin literally means to “miss the mark;” and, each and every one of us starts out life as a sinner – an outcast – but, we don’t have to remain that way! The mark I am speaking of is that of being just like Almighty God intended us to be! Almighty God’s holiness and perfection is the “mark” that we are measured by; and, under that definition, we are all “sinful” people!

Alol of us are born sinners. The Bible says for all have sinned and fallen short of the gloty of God. Even Paul, that great Christian of old was a sinner just like us. Notice that Paul of all sinners including us calls himself -the chief or the worst of sinners. I wonder if we see ourselves as sinners. It is so easy to lose sight of this fact. In seeing himself as a sinner I think of two things” Guilty and deserving no mercy.

Romans 5:8 says – But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us (NIV). Now, this, my brothers and sisters, is something worth paying attention to – the proof of Almighty God’s Love rests in the fact that Jesus, the Christ, died for us “while we were still sinners.” Almighty God did not start loving me when I decided to follow Him – The Almighty God did not start loving me because I gave up all of my bad habits and confessed all of my sins – The Almighty God did not start loving me after I proved that I had my act together – The Almighty God did not start loving me because I am a perfect specimen of humanity with no flaws! The Almighty God demonstrated His Love for me and for you, when we wanted nothing to do with Him – when we rejected Him – when we could care less about Him! The Almighty God’s Love is not based upon who we are or what we do; but, upon Who He is!

God loves each and every one of us, no matter who we are or what we have done because He is a loving God; and, because of the fact that you and I will never meet anyone who is not the object of Almighty God’s Love and Concern!

We will never meet anyone who does not need what we have in Christ Jesus! Many of us have seen the motion picture “Slumdog Millionaire” or have actually been to Kibera in Nairobi Kenya or any slum and know what it is like to be in need – those children in slums really need food and clothing and health care – they do not talk about their wants – they talk about their needs! All of us – you and I – have to eat something or we will die of starvation – it is not a matter of wanting to fulfil our desires – it is a matter of necessity!

The man – sick of the palsy – who was let down through the roof – came to Jesus, the Christ, not wanting some luxury item; but, simply wanting to be able to walk – and, he soon discovered he had an even greater need – a need to know Jesus, the Christ, as his personal Lord and Saviour! The same thing is true when it comes to our spiritual lives – we all have an inherent need to be in a relationship with Jesus, the Christ!

A story is told of a Christian couple that told their children to be kind to the kids next door but not to become close companions with them. They explained that these children could get them in trouble because of their dirty talk, their fighting, and their disrespectful attitude.

When the father of those children learned this, he was angry. “You think your kids are too good for mine,” he said one day to the other father. “No,” the believer quietly replied. “My kids have so many bad habits that they need all the encouragement they can get in the right direction. In fact, we too are sinners who need forgiveness. That’s why we believe on Jesus Christ. We’re not better than you or your children.”

Friend, even the best among us, young or old, think and act in sinful ways. We need the forgiveness that comes through faith in Jesus Christ, and we need Him to help us live a life that pleases God.

The rich young ruler in Luke 18 was outwardly religious and morally upright. But Jesus showed him his basic inner selfishness (Eph 2:22, 23). He too needed forgiveness. He too needed a new birth and the gift of the Holy Spirit.

Let’s not deceive ourselves. No matter how bad or how good we may be, we all need Jesus. Yes we can sing with Bill and Gloria Gaither that I’m just a sinner saved by grace; When I stood condemned to death He took my place; Now I live and breathe in freedom; With each breath of life I take Loved and forgiven; Back with the living I’m just a sinner saved by grace.

How could I boast of anything, I’ve ever seen or done? How could I dare to claim as mine, the victories God has won? Where would I be had God not brought me gently to this place, I’m here to say, I’m nothing but a sinner saved by grace.

Listen to the song by The Gaither Vocal Band

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns, Redeeming Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

