I Bowed on My Knees


By  Nettie Dudley Washington

I dreamed of a city called glory
It was so bright and so fair
As I entered the gates, I cried holy
The angels all met me there
And they carried me from mansion to mansion
And all the sights I saw
I said, I want to see Jesus
‘Cause he’s the One who died for me.

Chorus
I bowed on my knees and cried holy, holy, holy
I clapped my hands and sang glory
Glory to the Son of God

Verse 2
When I entered the gates of the city
My loved ones all knew me well
They took me down the streets of Heaven
All the saints were too many to tell
I saw Abraham, Jacob and Isaac
Talked with Mark, sat down with Timothy
But then I said, I want to see Jesus
‘Cause He’s the One who died for me

Chorus
I bowed on my knees and cried holy, holy, holy
I clapped my hands and sang glory
Glory to the Son of God

Indeed whenever you get to a new city, the inhabitants are eager to show you around. They will walk you all over till you have seen all the great places in that city. But when we get to heaven in that bright land where we will weep no more; in that great city not made by hands, whose designer and builder is the Lord of the ages, prepared for us before the world begun. When we get to that city, I want to tour that city as well. I would really want to see the streets of gold, and the gates of pearl, the angels, the friends who died before us, our parents, brothers and sisters and neighbours. But the grandest of the moment will be when we walk to meet the master himself, the one who died for us and meet him face to face. Oh I can only imagine what it will be like when we meet Jesus Christ face to face. Face to face with my lord Jesus oh how shall it be? I want to just fall on my knees and cry holy, holy, and holy to the Lamb of God.

Thank God for the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world. By The Lamb of God is meant as a representation of Christ, Jesus of Nazareth, and is represented this way because He was given to all that whoever believes in Him will have eternal life, by the will of God.

His sacrifice, He in full righteousness and no sin againts Him, giving up His spirit for our sins was likewise to the old way of sacrificing a lamb for sins. So Glory to Him, Christ, Jesus of Nazareth, who was sent by God and did all things according to God’s will that we may have life in death, our sins may be washed over by His sacrifice. He gave up His spirit in all righteousness and in 3 days God did raise Him again showing us the hope of our salvation through His will.

This entry was posted in Contemporary Hymns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Bowed on My Knees

  1. Jesenia says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

