Jesus, My Savior, to Bethlehem Came


 (Seeking Me) Music by E. E. Hasty

Jesus, my Savior, to Bethlehem came
Laid in a manger to sorrow and shame
Oh, it was wonderful, blest be His Name
Seeking for me, for me
Seeking for me, seeking for me
Seeking for me, seeking for me
Oh, it was wonderful, blest be His Name
Seeking for me, for me

Jesus, my Savior, on Calvary’s tree
Paid the great debt and my soul He set free
O it was wonderful, how could it be?
Dying for me, for me
Dying for me, dying for me
Dying for me, dying for me
O it was wonderful, how could it be?
Dying for me, for me

Jesus, my Savior, shall come from on high
Sweet is the promise as weary years fly
Oh, I shall see Him descending the sky
Coming for me, for me
Coming for me, coming for me
Coming for me, coming for me
Oh, I shall see Him descending the sky
Coming for me, for me

Alternate verses:
Jesus, my Savior, in mercy and love
Came from the mansions of heaven above
Tenderly pleading with sinners like me
Pleading for me, for me
Pleading for me, pleading for me
Pleading for me, pleading for me
Tenderly pleading for sinners like me
Pleading for me, for me

Jesus, my Savior, the same as of old
While I did wander afar from the fold
Gently and long He hath pled with my soul
Calling for me, for me
Calling for me, calling for me
Calling for me, calling for me
Gently and long He hath pled with my soul
Calling for me, for me

 

Nobody knows who wrote the words of this song, but the tune was written by Emerson E Hasty and it was first published in 1878 in an American hymnal. In the gospel halls and mission halls that Enid and  I grew up in there was no such thing as a Christmas Morning service, but with the first verse of “Jesus My Saviour” being about Christ’s birth, it was a regular at the usual weekly meetings on the run-in to Christmas. Bringing up children is a huge responsibility. I hope we’re managing to instil the right values and beliefs in our girls, including through the songs we sing and play in the house.

 “For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the
Lord.” (Luke 2:11)

No greater news could ever be announced to this sinful fallen human race than the glad
tidings of great joy that a Saviour has come to this world to save His people from their
sins. Let me say first of all, beloved, that we do not know what day the Lord Jesus was
born in Bethlehem. But the good news is, He was born. He came to this world to
redeem His people. All who will come to Him can enjoy this great redemption and
receive the great salvation that comes only through Him.

The Person who was Born: This Saviour that was born in Bethlehem was not just an ordinary man. He was the only begotten Son of God. The angel in this verse says that He is Christ the Lord. The word “Christ” is not a name, but it is His title. It means the “Messiah, the anointed of God to be ruler over Israel.” And we see that the angel said that He was Lord. Lord means that he is eternal deity, that is, He is Lord, divine Ruler over all things. So we see  immediately that this Child that was born in Bethlehem was no ordinary child.

There are many names and titles given to the Lord Jesus Christ in the Bible that reveal His character, person and work. Let me mention just a few of them, and keep in mind that each of these names and titles has a specific meaning.

He is called Advocate, Almighty, Alpha and Omega, Second Adam, the Amen, the Apostle of our Profession, the Arm of the Lord, the Author and Finisher of our faith, the Author of Eternal Salvation, the Beginning of the Creation of God, the Beloved Son, the Blessed and only Potentate, the Branch, the Bread of Life, the Captain of Salvation, the Good Shepherd, the Great Shepherd, the Chief Shepherd, the Christ of God, the Consolation of Israel, the Chief Cornerstone, Counsellor, Creator, Dayspring, the Deliverer, the Desired of all Nations, the Door, the Elect of God, the Everlasting of the Father, the Faithful Witness, the First and the Last, the First Begotten, the Forerunner, the Glory of the Lord, God, the God Blessed, Governor, Great High Priest, Head of the Church, Heir of all Things, the Holy Child, the Holy One, The Holy One of God, the Holy One of Israel, the Horn of Salvation, The I AM, the Image of God, Immanuel, Jehovah, Jesus, Jesus of  Nazareth, Judge of All Israel, the Just One, the King, the King of the Ages, the King of the Jews, the King of Kings, the King of the saints, the Lawgiver, the Lamb, the Lamb of God, the Leader, the Life, the Light of the World, the Lion of the Tribe of Judah, the Lord of all, the Lord of Glory, the Lord of Lords, the Lord our  Righteousness, the Man of Sorrows, the Mediator, the Messenger, the Messiah, the Mighty God, the Mighty  One, the Bright and Morning Star, the Nazarene, the Only Begotten Son, The Passover, the Prince of kings, the Prince of life, the Prince of Peace, Prophet, the Redeemer, the Resurrection and Life, the Rock, the Rod  of David, the Rose of Sharon, the Saviour, the Seed of Woman, the Shepherd and Bishop of Souls, Shiloh, Son of the Blessed, Son of David, Son of God, Son of the Highest, Son of Man, Son of Righteousness, the True Light, the True Vine, the Truth, the Witness, the Word, the Word of God.

Beloved, these are some of the great names and titles given to the Lord Jesus Christ in the Bible. Here we  can see clearly that there is no one who is as exalted as the Lord. His is above all. There is none like Him.
He condescended from the Mansions of Heaven to a mother’s womb, and from a mother’s womb to a manger. He is Heaven’s Light sent to this dark world to deliver us from the power of darkness, and translate us into His kingdom, the kingdom of light. He is the spiritual Bread sent down from heaven to satisfy our spiritual hunger. Dr. R. G. Lee used to say, “Christ is Heaven’s love for earth’s hate, Heaven’s joy for earth’s sorrow, Heaven’s Light for earth’s darkness, Heaven’s water for earth’s thirst, Heaven’s life for earth’s death, Heaven’s kindness for earth’s bitterness, Heaven’s truth for earth’s lie.” Yes, beloved, the Son of God was born in Bethlehem and He is the Saviour of the world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

