REDEEMED, How I Love to Proclaim It!


By Fanny Crosby & William Kirkpatrick

Redeemed, how I love to proclaim it!
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed through His infinite mercy,
His child and forever I am.

Refrain

Redeemed, redeemed,
Redeemed by the blood of the Lamb;
Redeemed, redeemed,
His child and forever I am.

Redeemed, and so happy in Jesus,
No language my rapture can tell;
I know that the light of His presence
With me doth continually dwell.

I think of my blessed Redeemer,
I think of Him all the day long:
I sing, for I cannot be silent;
His love is the theme of my song.

I know I shall see in His beauty
The King in whose Law I delight
Who lovingly guardeth my footsteps
And giveth me songs in the night

I know there’s a crown that is waiting,
In yonder bright mansion for me,
And soon, with the spirits made perfect,
At home with the Lord I shall be.

Another of Auntie Fanny’s hymns. I cannot just stop loving her hymns. We have talked about her biography in many of our hymns that we have looked at. But every time you open a new hymnbook page, you see another of Auntie’s hymns. May her soul rest in eternal peace.

Yes, Fanny Crosby was probably the most prolific hymnist in history. Though blinded by an incompetent doctor at six weeks of age, she wrote over 8,000 hymns. About her blindness, she said: It seemed intended by the blessed providence of God that I should be blind all my life, and I thank him for the dispensation. If perfect earthly sight were offered me tomorrow I would not accept it. I might not have sung hymns to the praise of God if I had been distracted by the beautiful and interesting things around me. Her grandmother spent much time teaching her the beautiful truths of her Redeemer in His Word.

A couple of comments about Redemption:

The word redeem implies the idea of a slave standing on the trader’s auction block being offered to the highest bidder. At last the price is paid by the compassionate new owner who then gives the slave an unconditional freedom. Go your way you are now free, the price tag on you is paid. But the freed slave out of gratitude to his new owner offers himself as a loving bond servant for life to his redeemer.

Yes, man has been separated from God by sin and has become a slave to Satan. But man has been redeemed. Because Christ paid the ransom we owed to divine justice, we have been freed from the shackles of sin’s bondage and God’s eternal wrath. Out of gratitude for the deliverance we cling to our new master and lovingly determine to serve Him forever. Our realisation of redemption causes us the redeemed to sing over and over again –Redeemed how I love to proclaim it, redeemed by the blood of the Lamb.

Let me share two stories that I have found interesting and they both illustrate what redemption really is in our modern language.

Redemption story 1:

There was a little boy who built a sailboat. He built the sail and had it all fixed up, tarred and painted. He took it to the lake and pushed it in hoping it would sail. Sure enough a wisp of breeze filled the little sail and it billowed and went rippling along the waves.

Suddenly before the little boy knew it, the boat was out of his reach, even though he waded in fast and tried to grab it. As he watched it float away, he hoped maybe the breeze would shift and it would come sailing back to him. Instead he watched it go farther and farther until it was gone.

When he went home crying, his mother asked, “What’s wrong, didn’t it work? And he said, “It worked too well.

Sometime later, the little boy went strolling downtown and walked past a second hand store. There in the window he saw the boat.

It was unmistakably his, so he went in and said to the proprietor, “That’s my boat.”  He walked to the window, picked it up and started to leave with it.

The owner of the shop said, “Wait a minute, Son. That’s my boat. I bought it from someone.” The boy said, “No, it’s my boat. I made it. See.” And he showed him the little scratches and the marks where he hammered and filed.

The man said, “I’m sorry, Son. If you want it, you have to buy it.

The poor little guy didn’t have any money, but he worked hard and saved his hard earned money. Finally, one day he had enough money. He went in and bought the little boat.

As he left the store holding the boat close to him, he was heard saying, “You’re my boat. You’re twice my boat. First you’re my boat ‘cause I made you and second you’re my boat ‘cause I bought you!

If you ever think that you aren’t worth much, just remember what God thinks of you. You are His. Twice His. First you’re His because He made you. You are His by right of creation. And second you’re His because He bought you on the cross. He paid a price to redeem you. You are His by right of redemption.

Redemption story 2:

A story is told of Years ago when A.J. Gordon was pastor of a church in Boston, he met a young boy in front of the sanctuary carrying a rusty cage in which several birds fluttered nervously.

Gordon inquired, “Son, where did you get those birds?”  The boy replied, “I trapped them out in the field.

What are you going to do with them?

I’m going to play with them, and then I guess I’ll just feed them to an old cat we have at home.

When Gordon offered to buy them, the lad exclaimed, “Mister, you don’t want them, they’re just little old wild birds and can’t sing very well.

Gordon replied, “I’ll give you $2 for the cage and the birds.

Okay, it’s a deal, but you’re making a bad bargain.

The exchange was made and the boy went away whistling, happy with his shiny coins. Gordon walked around to the back of the church property, opened the door of the small wire coop, and let the struggling creatures soar into the blue. The next Sunday he took the empty cage into the pulpit and used it to illustrate his sermon about Christ’s coming to seek and to save the lost — paying for them with His own precious blood.

That boy told me the birds were not song birds,” said Gordon, “but when I released them and they winged their way heavenward, it seemed to me they were singing, ‘Redeemed, redeemed, redeemed!

You and I have been held captive to sin, but Christ has purchased our pardon and set us at liberty. And you have more value than many sparrows. When a person has this life-changing experience, he will want to sing, “Redeemed, redeemed, redeemed!

Nothing in this world amazes me as much as the love of God. That He would love people like us, and save us just because we took Him at His Word is astonishing, amazing, and wonderful.

I wonder, have you experienced the wonder of God redeeming love? If you have, you know what I’m talking about. You should praise Him for His grace. If you have never experienced that redeeming love, I invite you to come to Jesus Christ today. If you come to Him, He will save you, and you will change your life.

 

This entry was posted in Hymns Alive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

