Nothing but the Blood Of Jesus!


nothing but the bloodThe blood of Jesus, washes, cleanses , sanitizes,,Irons (forgives),( folds and put away)=saves, because he is coming back to get a church with no spots or wrinkles those that he has made for him WHOSOEVER BELIEVES. No sin is too hard for Him to clean. He is The Hysoap literary.

Perhaps the most popular hymn about the blood is this one, written by two men who came to Christ as teenagers. Robert Lowry, author of the words, came to Christ at age seventeen. William Doane confessed Christ as his Saviour while in high school. Together they wrote hymns and published gospel songbooks. A few years earlier a number of hymn writers had written about the blood of Jesus. Their hymns are still marvellous tools of worship, but this one seems to be among the best for most Christians.

In 1739, Count Zinzendorf wrote his great “Jesus, Thy Blood and Righteousness.” That same year, Charles Wesley penned, “His blood can make the foulest clean, / His blood availed for me.”

The melancholy William Cowper wrote, “There is a fountain filled with blood / drawn from Emmanuel’s veins / And sinners plunged beneath that flood / Lose all their guilty stains.”

Nothing but the blood of Jesus came later in 1876 and it came with  an  attached Scripture from Hebrews 9:22: “Without shedding of blood there is no remission.” Most of our hymnals omit Lowry’s original final two stanzas. But here is the full hymn with all stanzas.

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Refrain:
Oh! precious is the flow
That makes me white as snow;
No other fount I know,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

For my pardon, this I see,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
For my cleansing this my plea,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Nothing can for sin atone,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
Naught of good that I have done,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

This is all my hope and peace,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
This is all my righteousness,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Now by this I’ll overcome
Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
Now by this I’ll reach my home
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Glory! Glory! This I sing
Nothing but the blood of Jesus
All my praise for this I bring
Nothing but the blood of Jesus

Nothing but the Blood of Jesus is a song which emphasizes the fact that we have redemption only through the blood of Christ.  It was first published in the 1876 Gospel Music which Lowry co-edited with William Howard Doane (1832-1915).   I have been intrigued to discover that in most of our song books there are only three or four stanzas, but Lowry actually wrote six!  The song reminds us how important the blood of Jesus Christ is to us.

The humility of many hymn writers is a reminder of how we ought to live. Just as Christ who was in very nature God did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but humbled himself even to death on the cross, so should any child of God endeavour to be.

The writer of this hymn Robert Lowry was another amazing humble man. We see this of Funny Crosby as well. It is said Robert Lowry that he once said “I would rather preach a gospel sermon to an appreciative audience than write a hymn. I have always looked upon myself as a preacher and felt a sort of depreciation when I began to be known more as a composer.” While Lowry preferred to be known as a minister,  it’s  however, as a hymn writer that he remains renowned even today. . He is credited with writing 500 hymns, which include the famous and beloved hymn, Nothing But the Blood. Some of the other hymns he composed were Christ Arose, Low in the Grave He Lay, Shall We Gather At The River, and How Can I Keep From Singing. He also wrote the music and refrain for Marching to Zion.

Regarding his preaching engagements that he so much would rather have been associated with, Robert Lowry was actually an American professor of literature and at the same time a Baptist minister and  off course composer of hymns. He was also a music editor at the Biglow and Main Publishing Company.

A couple of comments about the lyrics

Stanza 1 talks about its power to take away sin. “What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus; What can make me whole again? Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

Every responsible human being has to deal with the problem of sin (Romans 3:23).  This sin needs to be washed away (Acts 22:16).  Only the blood of Jesus can make us whole again (Mark 2:17).

Stanza 2 talks about its power to provide pardon. “For my pardon, this I see, Nothing but the blood of Jesus; For my cleansing this my plea, Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

When we sin, we need pardon (Exodus 34:9).  Not only do we need pardon, we need to see what can bring that pardon (Hebrews 2:9).  And what we see is that only the blood of Jesus can cleanse us from sin (I John 1:7).

Stanza 3 talks about its power to atone. “Nothing can for sin atone, Nothing but the blood of Jesus; Naught of good that I have done, Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

The blood of goats and calves cannot take away sin (Hebrews 10:4).  Naught of good that we might do can atone for our sins (Titus 3:5). Going to church will not take away my sin. Being good will not take away my sin, neither being baptised nor giving everything I own. Yet, to take away sin, something is needed to atone for it, and it is the death of Christ by which He shed His blood for us (Romans 5:8-11). Only the blood of Jesus can do that.

Stanza 4 talks about its power to bring righteousness. “This is all my hope and peace, Nothing but the blood of Jesus; This is all my righteousness, Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

Because of what Jesus did for us we can have hope (Colossians 1:27).  Because of what Jesus did for us we can have peace (Ephesians 2:14-17).  And because of what Jesus did for us we can have righteousness (Philippians 3:9).

Stanza 5 talks about its power to help us overcome. “Now by this I’ll overcome–Nothing but the blood of Jesus, Now by this I’ll reach my home–Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

God wants us to overcome (I John 5:4).  God wants us to reach our home (Colossians 1:5).  And to make this possible, Jesus shed His blood for our redemption (Matthew 26:28).

Stanza 6 talks about its power to produce joy in our lives. “Glory! Glory! This I sing– Nothing but the blood of Jesus,All my praise for this I bring–Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

We should give glory to the Lord (Revelation 1:6).  We should sing to Him with thanks in our hearts (Ephesians 5:19, Colossians 3:16).  And we should praise Him because He has washed our robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb (Revelation 7:9-14).

Without the shedding of blood there is no remission of sin” (Hebrews 9:22). The chorus helps us to understand the importance of Christ’s blood to our salvation.

“Oh! precious is the flow That makes me white as snow;
No other fount I know, Nothing but the blood of Jesus.”

This can serve as a good invitation song, to encourage those who need to respond to the gospel call to come for cleansing in the blood of Christ upon their compliance with His terms of pardon revealed in the scripture.  It can also serve as a hymn of praise to the Lord on the part of Christians for the blessings that we have as a result of the blood of Jesus. But whenever we sing the song, we need to remember that insofar as atonement for our sins is concerned, our salvation is grounded upon “Nothing But the Blood of Jesus.”

 

This entry was posted in Hymns Alive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing but the Blood Of Jesus!

  1. Reblogged this on Armor Of God Foundation and commented:
    Living He Loved me Dying He saved me, burried he carried my sin far away, Rising He justified freely forever, one day He is coming O glorious day

    Like

Leave a Reply

