I am so Glad that Jesus Loves Me


I am so glad

 

 

 

I am so glad that our Father in Heav’n
Tells of His love in the Book He has giv’n;
Wonderful things in the Bible I see,
This is the dearest, that Jesus loves me.

Chorus

I am so glad that Jesus loves me,
Jesus loves me, Jesus loves me.
I am so glad that Jesus loves me,
Jesus loves even me.

Though I forget Him, and wander away,
Still He doth love me wherever I stray;
Back to His dear loving arms I do flee,
When I remember that Jesus loves me.

Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing,
When in His beauty I see the great King,
This shall my song through eternity be,
“Oh, what a wonder that Jesus loves me!”

Jesus loves me, and I know I love Him;
Love brought Him down my poor soul to redeem;
Yes, it was love made Him die on the tree;
Oh, I am certain that Jesus loves me!

If one should ask of me, how can I tell?
Glory to Jesus, I know very well!
God’s Holy Spirit with mine doth agree,
Constantly witnessing Jesus loves me.

In this assurance I find sweetest rest,
Trusting in Jesus, I know I am blessed;
Satan, dismayed, from my soul now doth flee,
When I just tell him that Jesus loves me.

When you get inspired by something, write it down. You just never know someone may turn your thoughts into a song someday. The hymn “Jesus Loves Even Me” was written and composed by Philip P Bliss in 1870 after attending a meeting where the song “Yes Jesus Loves Me, by Anna Bartlett Warner was sung often. “Mr. Bliss said that this song was suggested to him by hear­ing the chor­us of the hymn “Oh, how I love Je­sus,” re­peat­ed ve­ry fre­quent­ly in a meet­ing which he at­tend­ed. Af­ter join­ing in the chor­us a num­ber of times the thought came to him, “Have I not been sing­ing enough about my poor love for Je­sus, and shall I not ra­ther sing of his great love for me?” Un­der the im­pulse of this thought he went home and com­posed this, one of his most pop­u­lar child­ren’s hymns.”

What a great thought, we are often too quick to speak to the Lord and how we love Him. What about turning the tables upside down and and talk about His love for us. Mr Bliss  thought, “Have I not been singing enough about my poor love for Jesus and shall I not rather sing of His great love for me?” Philip Bliss (1838-1876) wrote many well loved hymns, including Hallelujah, ‘Tis Done!, and By and By.

The song “Oh, how I love Jesus,” is really a lovely song but you can somehow sense in the words to this song the author’s view of the inadequacy of her love for the Lord.  Our love of God is not like the Love of God for us. God’s Love Reaches Beyond Circumstances, our love ends when circumstances change. A kind of  love that  is beyond our ability to grasp with our minds, but is not beyond our ability to experience with our hearts as Christians.

God Loves us Unconditionally. We love with conditions attached. God loves with agape, the love described in 1 Corinthians 13. He loves us so much that He sent His Son to die on the cross for us, that we might have everlasting life. His love is not based on performance. Christ loves us so much that while we were yet  sinners, He died for us.

God’s love for us is unconditional and undeserved. He loves us in spite of our disobedience, our weakness, our sin and our selfishness. He loves us enough to provide a way to abundant, eternal life. From the cross Christ cried out, “Father, forgive them for they know not what they are doing.” If God loved those who are sinners that much, can we imagine how much He loves us – His child through faith in Christ and who seeks to please Him? What a powerful thought that Jesus really loves us!

Couple of comments on the lyrics:

Wonderful things in the Bible I see, but this is the dearest – When reading the Bible you are simply amazed how God can speak to you in each line of scriptures. There are so many things that are awesome about the Bible.  The scriptures are inspiring, touching, convicting, and challenging.  The practical wisdom found in the Scriptures is unmatched by any man-written book we can buy on the shelf.  Any love story ever told is only half baked story. Nothing comes close to the story of the Love of Christ. As one hymn writer wrote – The love of God is greater far than tongue or pen can ever tell. It goes beyond the highest star   and reaches to the lowest hell. The guilty pair, bowed down with care,   God gave His Son to win; His erring child He reconciled   and pardoned from his sin.

Could we with ink the ocean fill,   And were the skies of parchment made; Were every stalk on earth a quill,   And every man a scribe by trade; To write the love of God above   Would drain the ocean dry; Nor could the scroll contain the whole,   Though stretched from sky to sky.
O love of God, how rich and pure!   How measureless and strong! It shall forevermore endure The saints’ and angels’ song.

Yes the dearest truth we can glean from His word – is that God loves us more than we can ever love Him.

“It was love made Him die on the tree” –  He could have called Angels to rescue him. God was in control of what was happening on the cross. Its not the nails that held him there. His love for us did so. It was not because of the strength of the hatred of Jesus by the religious leaders that Jesus had to die. It was love that made Him die on the tree.  It was His great love that caused Him to go willingly.  Jesus said to Pilate “You would have no power over me if it were not given to you from above.”  Jesus willingly, out of love, died on the tree for you and for me.

 Oh, if there’s only one song I can sing… How do we respond to all that God has done for us in Christ Jesus? How do we respond to this great love? If you only had one moment to sing a song- what would that song be? The hymn writer says This shall my song through eternity be … Oh what a wonder that Jesus loves me. It is indeed a wonder that Jesus loves us. We do not deserve any mercy for our sins and yet Christ loved us to the point of death. No greater love than this. It is an outrageous love. The greatest love of all.

Still He doth love me wherever I stray; Even when I go astray and my sins lead me away from the God I love; his love follows me still till He has brought me back home safely. Oh the love that will not let me go.

Well, this song and the history behind it reminds us that Jesus still loves us no matter what.  In spite of my wrong priorities, He loves me.  In spite of my moving Him to the “backburner,” He loves me.  Jesus loves, even, me.  He does not love me any less when I am two weeks late.  He doesn’t love me any more when I do what I am supposed to do.  He just loves me.  I hope your response to that kind of love is the same as mine today.  “Oh how I love Jesus…because He first loved me!!!”

 

This entry was posted in Hymns Alive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

