Give ear to my words O Lord


Bill Sprouse Jr. (1975)

My voice3Give ear to my words O Lord
Consider my meditation
Harken unto the voice of my cry
My King and my God
For unto Thee will I pray
My voice shalt Thou hear
In the morning
O Lord in the morning
Will I direct my prayer
Unto Thee and will look up

Give ear to my words O Lord
Consider my meditation
Harken unto the voice of my cry
My King and my God
For unto Thee will I pray
My voice shalt Thou hear
In the morning
O Lord in the morning
Will I direct my prayer
Unto Thee and will look up

Give ear to my words O Lord
Consider my meditation
Harken unto the voice of my cry
My King and my God
For unto Thee will I pray
My voice shalt Thou hear
In the morning
O Lord in the morning
Will I direct my prayer
Unto Thee and will look up

O Lord in the morning
Will I direct my prayer
Unto Thee and will look up

This song is actually a Psalm. Psalm 5: 1- 3 word for word. “Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my meditation. Hearken unto the voice of my cry, my King, and my God: for unto thee will I pray. My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. Psalms 5:1-3”.

The song was first published in the Marantha praise 5 series. The words and tune were written by Bill Sprouse in 1975. The writer of this song died shortly after it was recorded. The cover was an interesting painting of a young “soda jerk” relaxing in a juke box joint after hours. Bill Sprouse (The song writer) is behind the counter with his fizzy glass in hand and sees a couple of angels clapping by the juke box that has lit up with MARANATHA lighting up on it & and presumably playing the Lord’s Music that can be heard on the album!

Bill Sprouse was described by those that knew him as a friend and a most humble Godly young man who loved all God’s people no matter who they were. He was NEVER a respecter of Persons and would reach out to everyone.  Shockingly he passed away while taking a shower in his rented home with other fine Christian brothers. Those who met him say they shall never forget those blessed early days at Calvary with Bill,Oden and Mustard Seed faith, Tom Stipes and his Wing and a Prayer band, Love Song, Children of the Day and all the rest who helped make Calvary Chapel of Santa Ana truly the Limozine of  churches! God’s Spirit. Through all the ministries there drew the lost in quickly and powerfully with amazing Joy like no other church they had ever seen or heard could do. God blessed Papa /Pastor Chuck (The Founder of Maranatha Music) like none other, BECAUSE WHEN GOD GUIDES, GOD PROVIDES!

All we can say is join the many brethren that loved Bill and say thank you Jesus for taking OUR BELOVED BIG BILL straight to live with You forever in Heaven with our Holy Father GOD.

A couple of comments about the Psalm and the song

It Is A Personal Prayer – The Psalmist uses the words, “My words,” “My meditation,” “My cry,” My King,” and ”My God.” David was a king and most everything was done for him, but his prayer had to be personal. The Preacher, the parent, the politician, and every other person must make their prayer to God in person. No one else can approach the throne of grace for you. Every Christian must have a personal relationship with God and his communion with God must be personal. Sure we can pray for each other and help by taking our petitions for others to the throne. But we cannot pray instead or in place of another. The Christian must always remember that God is personal, “MY GOD!”

It Is A Profound And Personal Prayer – David’s prayer began with the words, “Give ear to my words.” The words we speak to God are very important. We are to be in an attitude of prayer all the day long, but nothing will take the place of our words to God in the morning. Prayer is more than just bowing our head. There needs to be some time of reverence and quietness, but God is waiting to hear words from our lips. The Bible says that out of the heart the mouth speaks. What a privilege to pour out our heart to God! Our sense of need and urgency needs to be expressed to God. God is not interested in planned eloquence; broken and burning words will be much more effective. Praying out loud to God is profitable because it keeps our prayers from becoming repetitive and wondering. Silent prayer can be vague and shallow. God is our Father and He longs to hear our words as we speak to Him. There are those times when words do not come; David called it meditation. God does know the deeps thoughts of our soul. I believe this refers to the desperate sigh of the Christian. God is attracted to the moans of the Christian that bears a load beyond human words. Sometimes the weight of our burden results in half-uttered prayers that only God can interpret. When human language fails, God still understands. The David said his prayer turns into a cry. This is when our prayers rise to the next level. It does not mean that we have to scream to get the attention of God; it simply means God’s is aware of the intensity of our prayer. Many call this prevailing prayer. This is the time when all of our energy and all of our emotions are focused toward God.

It Is A Resolute Prayer – “For unto Thee do I pray,” he was reaching out to God with a holy boldness. God is our King, but He is a kind and loving King, He will not deny us. Because He is the King, when He knows that we seek help from no other, He will give us His full attention.

It Is An Obedient Prayer – David is setting his day and his life in order before the Lord. The Lord desires first place in our lives and prayer in the morning indicates that we are giving Him His rightful place. His Word tells us how to pray and when to pray. When things are in order, our prayers will be heard. There is no man that can pray enough to defy the Word and will of God. The answer will not come if there is sin and rebellion. David could look up to God and see that things were right between he and his God. The main intent of our prayer should be to conform us into His image, according to His plan and purpose.

It Is An Expectant Prayer – David looked up expectantly for the things he prayed for. It is the picture of a child holding out his hands to a loving parent. As we pray we are to look to Heaven for an indication that God’s favor will be extended to us. Simply put, we are to look for the answer to our prayer! When a man places the trust of his heart and soul in the hands of God, he can look up, he ought to look up, knowing that God will not ignore or disappoint him. May we all draw near to God each morning. We do not know that the day will bring, but we can visit with the One who does know. When the see the rising of the sun in prayer, we can face the setting of the sun in praise.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

