I am still Confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living


when-the-opposition-seems-too-strong-14-638 Things have not been easy and somehow today everything within me is declaring the faith of this verse of scripture today:  “I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living”  (Psalm 27:13). Now hear me out clearly. I have not suddenly embraced a health and wealth prosperity gospel, or dominionism. Yet I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Thank God for a believing spouse we are able to say, if the Lord was not on our side, the world would have swallowed us alive. Within the theology of the cross we can still see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living, within suffering, within weakness, if we will have eyes of faith to see it. What David is saying in this Psalm is this, that, there is trouble all around me.  Enemies desire to destroy me.  But I seek the Lord.  And He meets me and rescues me. Therefore I am confident that my belief/trust in God is firm.  I am connected to Him.  I can believe that I will see God’s goodness in the land of the living as well as in heaven. So I can wait with hope.  I can in my heart bind together the difficult present with a hopeful future (in this world) of God’s involvement and goodness.  I can live in light of God. I will therefore be strong.  I will seize and fasten on God and who He is.  I will take heart and will bring my emotions, intellect and will under His loving sovereignty. I will eagerly anticipate what God will do.  I will wait with hope.

The goodness of the LORD in the land of the living reveals itself in numerous ways, and not just in those precious times when we can enjoy the blessings of God upon us when things are going smoothly. Spurgeon said of David “He believed to see the goodness of the Lord, not merely when he emerged from the furnace, but also while he was in it”. And here is what is so amazing – in Psalm 18, David’s psalm of deliverance, he has prayed to God for help in his distress, and as the Lord comes to his aid “He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him— the dark rain clouds of the sky” (Psalm 18:11). The Lord brings deliverance, His goodness, through the darkness!  My friend, even the darkness need not make us fear, for God is using it for His purposes of deliverance, He is in sovereign control using everything for His purposes to bring Glory to His Name! The goodness of the LORD in the land of the living!

We worship the God of Hope, and this Hope applies as much to this world as to the one to come when the fullness of the Kingdom will be revealed in all of its wondrous Glory. No situation is without Hope or beyond the reach of the redemptive hands of our God. He will always bring Glory to His Name, whether that is through delivering us from a trial or giving us the strength to endure it, but always always always revealing more of Himself to us, fulfilling our longing to know more of Him, feeding us from the tree of life, causing us to overflow with Hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. The goodness of the LORD in the land of the living

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

