A poem in honor of my lovely wife. Thank you Lord for giving her to me.


Throughout the ages, a woman has had the potential to be a great blessing for man. Proverbs 31:10 says it, “A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. 11 Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value. 12 She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” However, a woman has also proven to have great potential to be a curse. The same book of proverbs 21:9 says, “Better to live on a corner of the roof     than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.”

History has shown woman to be a key in the direction of mankind to operate in either a cycle of giving and blessings or using man and being a curse. God created woman to a helpmate to man. Without her, my life would be a mess.

There are some wonderful things about a godly woman especially when she is your wife. I have had more reason to thank God for good women in my life than most men. Enid and I have been married enough years to tell our story. Then God has given us lovely daughters. Enid, like Abigail of the Bible, is a woman of beauty and brains. What would I be without her?

Living with Enid has taught me true womanhood. She has been a great blessing to me. Like Abigail of the Bible, Enid is a smart, strong woman who has helped her husband many times. True of proverbs 31:30, “Charm and grace are deceptive, and beauty is vain (because it is not lasting), but a woman who reverently and worshipfully fears the Lord, she shall be praised!” The key for true womanhood is to be a woman who follows and reverently fears God.

When asked to describe what my wife means to me, I am rendered speechless. When I met her my life was functioning like I was whole. It was not apparent to me that I needed anything. The story of how we met is always a moment of evoking God’s divine sovereignty. Sure I was lonely and longed to hold someone and physically express love to someone but those urges would come and go with the day. God had me in His hand and kept me and my needs in check. God and I were okay as we were. But God knew something about me that I didn’t know. He knew my potential with a godly wife at my side.

He knew how much she would do for me and how I needed her to fulfill a purpose in my life that I as yet did not know. The following poem is written in honor of my lovely wife, Enid. Thank you God for giving her to me.

God your love for me, is very clear

You know my flesh, you know my fear,

You know my body, you know my mind

You know my growth, can fall way behind

So you gave me a gift, unspeakable, real

Emotions so strong, I can’t say how I feel,

I open my eyes, at the start of each day

To behold beauty, that with me does stay,

She smiles at me, though knowing my sins

And prays for me, when a new day begins,

She comes alongside, put there by God

She’s fully aware, her husband is flawed,

But she loves me to death, I know that ’tis true

And I run out of ways, to say “I love you.”

She lends me her spirit, to help focus my thought

She lends me her wisdom, lessons God’s taught,

She gives me her body, so completely, so free

With passion and love, complete ecstasy,

So I love her like Christ, said to love your bride

And cherish that girl that stays by my side

I love her and honor her, a gift straight from God

I feel giddy, happy, filled with great awe,

I want you to think, for a moment or two

Just what that woman, really means to you,

How your work for the Lord, would suffer or die

If she didn’t help, but stood idly by,

Do you realize your mind, would fold in on itself?

Do you think all that work, is done by an elf?

The meals she cooks, the dishes she does

She does backbreaking work, and it’s all because

It’s a ministry from God, she’s smart enough to know

How God works in a family, whose life’s on the go,

Now let’s all thank God, for the gift He has given

And serve Him together, a team bound for heaven.

Abigail is an interesting woman whom you find in 1 Samuel chapter 25.  Like several women in the Old Testament, Abigail is described as beautiful.  Unlike other women in the Old Testament, Abigail is also described as “intelligent” (NAB, NIV, TEV), or “clever” (NRSV), or “of good understanding” (KJV, ASV), etc.

Abigail was married to a wealthy man and she may have enjoyed the benefits of an affluent lifestyle, but her rich husband Nabal was foolish, intemperate and mean. Abigail’s name is derived from two Hebrew words, “father” and “happiness”, and means “my father’s happiness”.  She may have been the cause of happiness in her father’s house, but Abigail’s marriage cannot have been a happy one. Nabal’s name means “foolish” or “senseless” in Hebrew.  As an adjective the word is used especially of people who have no perception of ethical or religious claims. It is an apt name for this character, who typifies such behavior.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

