Seasons Come and Seasons Go – But God Never changes


seasons_come_and_go1

“The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul. The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple.” Psalm 19:7.

One scripture that I has seen me through my winding journey in the past thirty years has been Psalm 19. This verse summarizes life in general. “Reviving” often means giving life to something that lacks it. This connects me to how the rainy season in Southern Africa and indeed everywhere brings life out of the death of  long dry season. And, in other ways, we see this same thing in all the seasons. Psalm 19: 7, calls the Lord’s statutes and laws “perfect” and “trustworthy,” reminding me of nature’s systems and how they exist and seem to work quite smoothly even when my human mind cannot conceive why.

As I have journeyed, I have noted that as people, we experience many seasons of change that we cannot control. We experience seasons of trials, of joy, of sadness, of mourning, of laughter, of things ending, and of new beginnings. But during these seasons, it can be hard to remain constantly faithful.

I have come to realize that it’s hard to remain faithful in season’s changes, because I have faith in myself, thinking I know what is best for my life. But, I do not. Sometimes I wonder where God went, and wonder if He never saw me struggling; but He is always there, no matter the season. I struggle with not having faith that God has my best interests at heart, when deep down, I know He does.

Seasons will come and go, but God will always remain constant. He will remain constant in your suffering, in your happiness, and in your confusion. Have faith that your season will change for the better. Nothing is too difficult for God. During these seasons, it’s our job to listen to God, to know if we should keep silent or speak, if we embrace or refrain, if we mourn or laugh, or if we keep or cast away. It’s our job to remain faithful, whenever we want to give up. There we will always seasons in our lives, sometimes for the good and sometimes for the bad, but our God will always remain faithful.

I have known all types of seasons as though the Lord wanted me to see how nothing I am without Him, and how great I can be when I trust in Him. He is all in all. I am weak but thou art strong – Lord keep me from all wrong in every season of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

